Wednesday, 23 April 2014

Review: Jamies Italian Perth

Venue: Jamies Italian Perth
Location: Perth City 
Date: 9th April 2014
Rating: 5/5


I was so excited to hear that there was a Jamie's Italian in Perth City. Jamie Oliver is my favourite UK Chef and his Italian restaurant in Portsmouth is one that myself and my mum went to when we had a relaxing weekend away before I moved out here. 

I LOVED his restaurant in Portsmouth and I was happy to see that his menu was the same in Perth so I knew exactly what to expect when we went there. We decided to save the trip to Jamies to celebrate when we got our visa with friends however sadly the queue when we went was too long for some of us to wait so we went elsewhere. It is not uncommon to have to wait for HOURS for a table at this restaurant if you want to come for dinner, especially if you come on a weekend. So during a random trip to the city me and Scott decided to check out whether we could get a table on a Thursday at 4pm. 


We were in luck. They had plenty of tables available so we were able to find a nice table for two. Straight away we took a few snaps of the Jamie napkins (as you do!) and ordered some drinks. I really wanted the gorgeous Florence Fizz cocktail but as I was driving, and the cops loved to pull me over for 'random tests' I decided not to. 


The waiter we had was fantastic! Scott was unsure what beer to order and straight away the waiter knew he was a larger lout so recommended a crisp italian larger which went down very well. When it came to ordering our food I knew what I wanted, the sausage pappardelle in the small size (because I'm really not meant to have pasta) and a side of their famous polenta chips. Scott ordered the fillet steak but was recommended to actually go for the loin steak as it had more meat on it and was a little cheaper. It was the best recommendation we have had while dining out so far. Scott was finally happy with a steak he was served and gave the meal a 5/5. 


For those of you who know Scott you will know he loves his steak and its very hard to find a restaurant which does it perfectly. Well hats off to you Jamie, you made my man very happy! 

For dessert we each had a serve of their gorgeous brownie slice with chocolate sauce and popcorn. I didn't manager to finish mine so Scott polished off both of them. The waiter was so shocked that one man can eat a huge steak, a side and two brownie desserts that he offered us a free dessert next time we go! 


If your looking for a fantastic meal, great atmosphere and friendly staff then head down to Jamies Italian in Perth. Make sure you book a table or at least be prepared to queue for a long time unless you go during their quieter time. 















Tuesday, 25 February 2014

Review: Crown Perth

Venue: Crown Casino Perth
Location: Bentley
Date: Every Friday (so far this year!)
Rating: 5/5


Since the beginning of the year myself and a friend decided to visit Crown Perth. Now I am not ashamed to admin that myself and Scott do love to gamble. When I used to live in New Zealand I wouldn't be able to go to a bar without putting at least $10 into a poky machine and for Scott, he loves a good bet on the footie or a scratch card here and there. So when I was invited to go and see Perth's only casino I jumped at the chance. 

It is HUGE! 

Bigger than any Casino I have been to before, including Auckland. 

The building itself is also spectacular. Its a large pyramid shape and inside includes an exclusive hotel, bars, restaurants and the casino itself. The Lobby Bar is one of my favourite bars to drink in as its out in the 'lobby' of the hotel and on a friday night you can listen to a beautiful performance from a male and female singer. They also do cracking cocktails and are not shy with the spirits. 

In total the Crown is home to 32 bars and restaurants, a nightclub, 24hour casino, 397 room hotel, 2,300 seated theatre, spa and meeting facilities. Parking isn't difficult either with over 2,000 spaces (free and paid). 
The Casino itself goes round in a huge circle which feels like it goes on forever. You will never not be able to find a machine to play on and if your looking to make some big bucks then they do have poker rooms and high priced tables for black jack and roulette. 

Its a great night out and so easy to get to as you don't have to battle with the city traffic. It is a good idea to go with a limit however as you can get pretty carried away. 

We are looking forward to a few more nights out at the Casino (or the Cas as locals call it) and who knows we might even be able to win our wedding budget!   (I can dream!) 











Lobby Lounge at Crown Metropol on Urbanspoon

Saturday, 15 February 2014

Review: Clancy's Fish Bar

Venue: Clancy's Fish Bar
Location: City Beach
Date: 29th December 2013
Rating: 2/5


While visiting City Beach after work we decided to pop in to Clancy's fish bar for a bite to eat and a drink. The outside of the restaurant looked lovely and the view overlooked the beach, perfect for a couples dinner. 
We walked in and asked for a table by the window, what we got was a table behind a table with a view. I assumed they had put us there because the table in front of us was for four people and didn't want us to take up that space. So we sat on a table of two, still able to see the beach....kind of. 

The interior was fantastic and themed really well. We loved the way they lit the place with these fantastic lampshades. 

We took a look at the menu, our first thoughts were 'christ thats expensive' and then we realised it was probably because the portion sizes were very generous and the fish would be fresh. Scott ordered the Salmon and I ordered the Barramundi. We also ordered some bread and dips to go with them. 

I have to say we were very unimpressed with the 'laid back' approach to their staffs service. Not one of the service staff cracked a smile, none had any chit chat or tried to build any sort of rapport with us and when clearing our table (one plate at a time!) they didn't even have the courtesy to ask if we had finished. 

Don't even get me started on the food, for starters they didn't have any barramundi left so I had to settle for greasy Hoki and get charged the same price. The amount we paid for the fish, we assumed it would at least come with chips or a salad....nope just a small piece of fish. The price for this small piece of fish was $19 each, we then asked for some chips (as we weren't made aware it didn't come with a side!) and we were charged $7 each for those. Others might not think this was very expensive but when you take into consideration the size of the meal, and the
 very unfriendly service, we did not feel the price was justified. 
Once we finished our meal our table was cleared but we were not asked if we wanted another drink, dessert or  how we pay. If the place was busy I would be more tolerable to this kind of service, however there wouldn't have even been 10 tables in there at the time we went in. It is safe to say we won't be returning, I would rather take a picnic and eat outdoors next time or drive to somewhere else in the city. 




To top it all off the same member of staff who seated us went and sat another couple on the large table in front of the window. So the reason I assumed they didn't let us sit there was incorrect, they were actually just incapable of suiting our needs. 


















Clancy's Fish Bar City Beach on Urbanspoon

Wednesday, 8 January 2014

Reviews: Ace Cinema

Venue: Ace Cinemas Midland
Location: Midland
Date: 8th January 2014
Rating: 4/5


Yesterday we went to visit the cinema in Midland to watch Hunger Games: Catching Fire. We would often visit the cinema back in the UK but always found it a very expensive experience. Unfortunately the story here is not much different with regards to price, $18 a ticket and $7.50 for a large drink. 

However......

For $18 (approx £10) you get a large, comfy seat with low, padded arm rests. One of the things I hated about the arm rests in our cinema back at home was how uncomfortable they are to lean against and the seats are too small to curl up on. 


For $7.50 (approx £4) you get a HUGE frozen coke. I think we paid around £6 for a 'large' frozen Fanta back home, so here you are defiantly getting your moneys worth.  




Parking is also really easy, and free!


For $20 you can also buy a VIP Ace Cinema card which reduces the price of the tickets to any film, anytime, to $10 each. After going to the cinema a couple of times a year thats already worth it. 

We had a really good time and that was the second time we have been to that cinema. Don't let the price put you off, its well worth it! We have yet to try gold class so once we do we will be sure to review whether its worth the money or not. 




The only thing we didn't like was the popcorn. You only get one choice of flavour and its the salted kind, yuck! Introduce sweet popcorn and will award them with the final star!




Saturday, 21 December 2013

Review: Malaysian Dining Delight

Venue: Malaysian Dining Delight
Location: Bentley
Date: 3rd December 2013
Rating: 4/5

Dinner for 19 people please!

Every monday we go for dinner with all of the family at my great Aunt and Uncles house in Kalamunda. For a change of scenery we decided to try out this Malaysian restaurant which one of us recommended.

We took up half of the restaurant and it was a little loud but the food was fantastic. One of the most popular items on the menu was the deep fried Barramundi which had to be ordered 24 hours before as it is bought in fresh. It was delish and although it was something you shared, I could have easily had one to myself. It just melted in your mouth.

The other dishes which went alongside were also nice, although a few were very similar to each other. It was also BYO with a bottle shop next door so that was good.

How much did it cost? Less than 1 hours wages!
In total for 19 people eating, including starters, main and sides was $15 each! What a total bargain. Its the first place we have been which cost next to nothing but the food and service was fantastic.

I would highly recommend this place if you are looking to go out with friends or family. It is too loud for a romantic couples night but for a relaxed, social evening its great.

We will be returning again soon

Photo of the deep fried Barramundi. (source Urban Spoon)

Malaysian Dining Delights on Urbanspoon

Saturday, 2 November 2013

Review:The Great British Chippy

Venue: The Great British Chippy
Location: Currambine
Date: 31st October 2013
Rating: 4/5

On Thursday we decided to take a trip up to Currambine with one of our lovely friends Suzy. The trip was a treat for us all as we were visiting The Great British Chippy which opened last month.  This is the only British Fish and Chip shop in WA so its become very very popular.

But your in Australia, why do you want British food?

When you live so far away from home its nice to feel that little bit closer with some of the things you might miss. In our house back in the UK, Fish and Chips from the chippy was a weekly Friday night thing if we could afford it. Of course they have fish and chip shops out here but they aren't the same as those back home. Aussies don't understand 'soggy chips' and thats the only way i could describe the way our chips are back home!

Anyway, we drove about 45 minutes to get there and we were not disappointed! I ordered battered sausage and chips, Scott had battered cod, chips, chicken and mushroom pie and a can of Lilt and Suzy had battered cod, chips, mushy peas and a can of Shandy Bass. Not one of us was disappointed!

We had all heard mixed reviews about this place so were very keen to try it out. With such a large population of ex pats over here it will be very difficult for this place to fail.

The only downside was the queue, the place was pretty quiet when we went but we still had to wait longer than you would imagine. The girl on the counter was happier to chat to the bloke on the fryers than packing up our food but nevertheless we were still satisfied.

If your a Brit out here looking for some decent fish and chips then this is the place to go!






Great British Chippy on Urbanspoon

Friday, 25 October 2013

Review: The Lucky Shag

Venue: The Lucky Shag
Location: Perth City Centre
Date: 13th October 2013
Review: 4/5

After we visited Kings Park with Aunty Lesley we decided to go for somewhere to eat. After driving around the city deciding on what we all fancied we came across The Lucky Shag pub. I have heard some really great things about this place and lots of friends have recommended going there. We managed to get street parking right outside which let us park for a maximum of 2 hours. 

As we walked in we realised that we weren't the only people who thought going here on a sunny sunday would be a good idea. The place was crammed full of people all waiting for tables to be free so they can sit down and eat. We were lucky that we didn't have to wait long as I spotted a couple leaving and ran straight to their table.  

We ordered some drinks and also a plate of sliders to share between myself and Lesley and of course Scott ordered one for himself. The sliders came with chips and onion rings and tasted amazing, It was just the right amount of food for an afternoon snack. The service was very quick and very friendly, surprising for such a busy day. 

I wouldn't recommended going here during the winter as seating indoors was limited. Also if you want to stay in the venue after 4:30 pm, and you are male, you are not allowed to wear sleeveless tops or thongs (flip flops). We were interrupted by a member of staff who told us we must leave before then as Scott was not dressed accordingly. Beats me what the difference between when we arrived and after 4:30 but we were ready to leave anyway so we weren't too fussed. 

If there is a big group of you and its a nice day i suggest going early to grab a seat as you wont be able to get one later on. 

Also the term 'The Lucky Shag' means the lucky bird. A Shag is a bird here in Australia, nothing rude, just a bird!





The Lucky Shag Waterfront Bar on Urbanspoon